Departments

Scroll down for more information

Sherman Elementary Schools is organized into departments that supplement academic programs and student services. Each department is composed of dedicated experts in their fields who are committed to serving our students and their families.

To find out more about the departments, contact them, or access resources provided by these teams, click the tabs below to find out more.

Art Teacher | Courtney Dickinson | courtney.dickinson@warwickschools.org 

The Sherman Elementary School Art department creates rich and engaging experiences and opportunities for all learners. A successful art program not only fosters many areas of growth in myriad ways, it helps students see and understand visual arts in different ways. Students begin to develop an aesthetic sense and understanding of their own design and see the potential in their own skills. They forge a sense of visual literacy that promotes individuality and critical thinking skills.

At Sherman Elementary, we want our students to experience the reward and joy of art that is both technically and spiritually expressive.

Science Teacher |Lori O’Neil | lori.oneil@warwickschools.org

The goal of elementary science is to provide young learners with an introduction to our natural world geared toward promoting both a literacy and an enthusiasm that will engage them throughout their lives. “Hands on” teaching methods are applied as a means to convey the basic skills necessary for scientific processes and investigation. Teachers present an approach centered on observation, measuring, and classification to foster the students progress in acquiring skills which will help them apply concepts and utilize that knowledge in a meaningful way in their future years of education.

Music Teacher | Katherine Scott | katherine.scott@warwickschools.org 
Instrumental Music Teacher | Dinarte Ferro | dinarte.ferro@warwickschools.org (Friday’s)

Music education is a vital part of Sherman Elementary’s curriculum. Young learners show innumer benefits from the exposure to music and the concepts of music making and music theory. Music education programs help young learners scholastic development in myriad ways as students not only take inspiration from the music but see lessons from other classes – math, science, english, social studies – echoed in song. They develop appreciation for human potential in the musicians they hear and seek to find and realize their own musical gifts.

Physical Education/P.E. TeacherKim Sullivan | kim.sullivan@warwickschools.org 

 

Support Staff (Grades K-3)| Susan Sylvester | susan.sylvester@warwickschools.org 

Support Staff (Grades 4-6)| Charlene Williams | charlene.williams@warwickschools.org 

Teacher Assistant| Janis Reis | janis.reis@warwickschools.org 

Speech & Language| Carole Asher | carole.asher@warwickschools.org 

Occupational Therapist | Lauren Sharkey | lauren.sharkey@warwickschools.org 

Teacher of Hearing Impaired | Stephanie Egan | stephanie.egan@warwickschools.org 

Psychologist| Ilaine Larrivee |  Ilaine.larrivee@warwickschools.org 

Social Worker| Shannon McCominsky |  shannon.mccominsky@warwickschools.org 

Reading Specialist| Jean Ranallo |  jean.ranallo@warwickschools.org 

Math Interventionist | Kaitlyn Wallace |  kaitlyn.wallace@warwickschools.org